Upcoming events

    • October 28, 2021
    • 8:00 PM - 9:30 PM
    • Online
    Register


    In the lead up to the 35th anniversary of the JET Program, join us for a free creative program celebrating JET through the success of the alumni. Highlighting the contributions of JETs to the U.S.-Japan community, this variety show brings together the diverse community of JET alumni with snapshots into their experiences with arts, culture, research, and more!

    Register free to have the access link emailed to you prior to the event.

    Find Your Time Zone

    October 28: 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT / 4 PM Alaska Time / 2 PM Hawaii Time

    Japan time: October 29 at 9 AM JT.

    Featuring:

    • The Basics of Sake in 6 Minutes - John Gauntner
    • Influence of Japan on Her Ceramics - Laurel Lukaszewski
    • Introducing Yokai to Marvel Comics - Zack Davisson
    • Filmmaking in Japan - Aaron Woolfolk, director of the Harimaya Bridge, & Jim Gannon, USJETAA Vice-Chair
    • The Japanese Beer Industry - Kyoto Brewing founders Paul Speed & Chris Hainge in conversation with beer sommelier Mario Depeine
    • A Look at Japan - InsideJapan Tours
    • Farm Stays in Rural Japan/JET Entrepreneurship in Japan - Derek Yamashita, Hidden Japan
    • Taiko - Kokyo Taiko (Lincoln, Nebraska) & Kawakami Village (Nara, Japan)
    • Japanese American Experiences in Japan - Jane Yamashiro
    • Entrepreneurship and Japanese Business Innovation - Kay Makishi
    • November 04, 2021
    • 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM (UTC+09:00)
    • Zoom Webinar
    Register


    Join us on Nov. 4th for an information session on the JET Microgrant Initiative! Do you have an idea for a project to encourage your students to learn English, like creating an English language picture book library or setting up a penpal exchange? Do you want to learn more about how US JETAA and the US Embassy in Tokyo could support you? Join this session where we will share the details and help answer your questions!

    We encourage you to review the program details and application prior to this session, available here.

    This event will be at 7 AM Eastern Time / 8 PM Japan Time. If you cannot attend live, there will be a recording available after the session.

    • November 13, 2021
    • 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    • Zoom
    Register


    Welcome back to the US, JETs! You're joining a national network of JET alumni. Join us for a primer on how the JET alumni network and local chapters can support you, a step-by-step guide to finding your post-JET career path, and a chance to mingle and socialize with other returnees and JET alumni. Event is sponsored by Two Birds One Stone Learning.

    Find your timezone: 7 PM EST / 6 PM CST / 5 PM MST / 4 PM PST / 3 PM Alaska Time / 1 PM Hawaii Time

    Agenda:

    1) Welcome to the JET alumni network! (~10 mins)

    2) "Finding Your Career Path After JET" with Emily Frank of Denver Career Catalyst (~30-45 mins)

    3) Additional career resources (~5 mins)

    4) Networking and Mixing Breakout Rooms (~60 mins)

    5) Closing
    • November 14, 2021
    • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
    • Zoom
    Register


    The goal of the USJETAA Japanese Reading Group is to help advanced beginner and intermediate level students improve their reading skills. Each month we will look at a short reading from Aozora Bunko, a repository of public domain literature. Participants should attempt to do the reading on their own and come to the meeting with any questions. We will spend the meeting each month reading the assignment sentence by sentence to understand how the Japanese is working.

    In November, we will be reading the second half of a short essay titled "Reflections on Rain (雨の回想)" by the writer Wakasugi Toriko who was sold to a geisha house at the age of one and later was able to become a newspaper journalist. The reading is here:

    https://www.aozora.gr.jp/cards/000331/files/2663_45773.html

    See a translation of her writing "The Foot of Mount Asama" at this link:

    https://intranslation.brooklynrail.org/japanese/the-foot-of-mount-asama/

    Register to receive the Zoom access link.

USJETAA | 1201 15th St., NW, Suite 330, Washington D.C. 20005 | contact@usjetaa.org | 202.653.9800

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software